Recipe: Chicken Alfredo

Well, this is 100% not a healthy dinner option. It could be healthy if you made many substitutes, but that’s not how I roll. I use regular pasta, heavy cream, and LOTS of butter.

Ingredients:
2 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
2 Cups Unsalted Chicken Stock
2 Cups Heavy Cream
Fresh Grated Parmesan Cheese

First I take two chicken breasts, maybe three, depending on how many people I’m feeding, and cube the chicken. In a heated frying pan, at about the “6” level, I melt a table spoon of butter and then add then chicken. While the chicken is starting to cook I get my pot of water ready. TIP: use a deep, large skillet filled with water to boil your pasta, it takes half the time to get the water to a boil. I would say that it takes about 10 minutes to cook all of the chicken thoroughly. When the chicken is cooked I place it on a plate and stick the plate in the microwave. I don’t microwave the chicken, its just a good place to keep it warm. In the same pan that you cooked the chicken in, is the pan I make the sauce in. I add about 4 table spoons of butter and let that melt before adding 2 cups of chicken stock. I prefer unsalted. I bring the butter and chicken stock to a low rolling boil and let it cook down for about 10-15 minutes. At any point when the water for your noodles is ready, go ahead and add them. Once the chicken stock is cooked down, I add 2 cups of heavy cream. Again I let that come to a low rolling boil. Next I add a container of shredded Parmesan cheese. I don’t use the weird powder kind, like the stuff you sprinkle on top of your pizza, I find that it clumps together and doesn’t make for a nice sauce. I find mine in the cheese cooler next to the produce section at Walmart. Off the top of my head I don’t know how much cheese is in the container, but lets just say 2 cups. That seems to be the theme of the recipe. As the cheese melts and the cream boils it should thicken up nicely. If you find that its not thickening up, add more cheese, or a table spoon of flower.  For seasoning I add 1 teaspoon of Nutmeg, and then salt and pepper to taste. Lastly I add the chicken back into the sauce, drain the noodles, and then serve up.

I apologize for not using 100% specific instructions, I found a recipe about 2 years ago and have the ingredients and steps memorized. I mostly just wing it and go based off sauce consistency and taste. This is Devons favorite recipe, well, anything with pasta is his favorite, but its a fast one that I can make without having to look things up. It really yummy and yields a lot of food and sauce so there is always a good chance of left overs.

Leave a Reply

